Book Review: The Most Excellent Way to Lead by Perry Noble

Noble

In my bookcase, the last thing I probably need is another leadership book. However, when I was choosing books that I wanted to review, I couldn’t resist choosing this leadership book by Perry Noble. The book centers around the idea of leadership being based on 1 Corinthians 13. Noble makes the case that every attribute of love talked about in 1 Corinthians 13 can be applied to leadership. Some of the attributes of love talked about in 1 Corinthians 13 include patience, not delighting in evil, kindness, rejoicing in the truth, etc. At the end of each chapter, Noble gives brief summary points and questions to ask yourself and the team you serve with.

I still consider myself an emerging leader. Therefore, any time I have the opportunity to further evaluate my leadership, I try to take advantage of that moment. This book gave me the opportunity to see where I am as a leader in comparison to 1 Corinthians 13. Through reading this book, I’ve had a chance to take a hard look at my leadership to see what I’m doing well in and what I need to improve on. One thing that I love about looking at leadership from the 1 Corinthians 13 angle is that it’s not so much about being nice. Being nice does not equal operating in love. One attribute talked about is rejoicing in the truth. The truth is not always going to be “nice.” Yet, if I love the people I serve, I will be honest with them and tell them the truth. If you’re a leader (positional or simply by influence), I want to encourage you to pick up this book and use it as a way to evaluate where you are as a leader. I promise that you’ll grow tremendously in your leadership as you study it from the perspective of 1 Corinthians 13. Without love, our leadership is worthless. Let’s tap into worthy leadership!

Disclaimer: Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complementary copy of this book.

Leave a Reply

