Book Review: Safe People by Cloud/Townsend

Safe People

In honor of being selected to be a part of a launch team for a book coming out by Dr. Henry Cloud, I decided to do a book review of one of my favorite books by him and Dr. John Townsend: “Safe People”. The premise of this book is that there are safe and unsafe people in the world. The safe people are the ones we need to have in our lives, while unsafe people are the ones we need to avoid. Some of the traits of unsafe people discussed include those who gossip, those who play the blame game vs taking responsibility and those who are defensive. Safe people are pretty much the opposite and are supportive, tell the truth, love others and authentically supports others. The authors make the case that when we choose the wrong people, it can lead to tragedies and traumatic events taking place in our life.

I first read this book several years ago and immediately it was a huge blessing to me. This book also confirmed to me that a lot of people who are unsafe have been hurt by life themselves. The quote “hurt people hurt people” is so prevalent. The opposite that “healed people heal people” is true as well. This book made me evaluate my relationships in terms of who I have in my life. The book also made me evaluate whether others would consider me a safe person or not. I firmly believe that if we had more safe people in our world, it would be a much better place to live. This book is definitely good for people who have been hurt by life needing a safe community for healing.

Whether you’ve been hurt or have done the hurting, this book can be a great source of information to evaluate the relationships in your life. Save a few dollars and invest in your spiritual and emotional health by learning what relationships you need in your life and the ones you need to get rid of. Your life will improve tremendously!

Leave a Reply

